top of page

Feel That Expansion

Updated: Jan 25, 2021


How many of you can't wait for this pandemic to end? Days are combining into each other. Realizing how many dishes we have cleaned since this whole thing started. Our hands are drier than normal from all of the hand washing already, then adding in cleaning dishes, how much water can our bodies truly handle.


But how many new things have you learned about yourself? Are you an amazing cook? Does that creative part of the brain work better than ever? Have you spent time creating a small garden on your window sill? Have you rested your body more than you have expected? That last Netflix marathon got you reeled in so much that you finished it in over one weekend. I know, the list can go on.




I was just telling our daughter that I want to get a shoe box and fill it with everything that will remind me of this moment.

This box will contain pictures of the times we shared. I want to remember all of the amazing recipes I learned I could make. Put the art we created at that Zoom Paint Night we attended. Taking pages out of our journals that describe what we are feeling. Add photos of the FaceTime we had with so many, not being able to feel that true human touch with those we love. We can hear their voices on the phone or see them on our devices, and realizing that our older family members actually know how to use social media and electronics. Documenting everything we read, watched, written to remind us that this was the first time in history for most of us to only have a select few options for how to spend our days.


I will print articles that contain facts of how this impacted our entire world. Not just the bad, but the good. When was the last time you breathed in this clean air. Singers performing on our TV's from their homes, people opening up their services for free to all that want to attend via Zoom. We have seen how much we care for everyone's peace of mind. Shoot, I can't believe we have been with out sports for over 30 days.


All I know is that this is just another lesson for me. I have experienced so much in these 30 days, and it is nothing like a Zombie Apocalypse. We all can understand each other even if we are not going through the same story. This will be just another blip of history we get to share. Make something of it. How do you want to remember this? I want to remember this as the Tiger King Meme's, Birthday Parades, children learning like they are in Independent Study, every night could be a dessert night, sitting with myself and my thoughts, staying connected with family and friends, and spending so much quality time with those in my home and still not feeling crazy yet.


So many emotions have surprised me. I don't ever want to forget this. A perfect reminder to live for everyday. To say how much you love your tribe. To do all of those things you have on your bucket list before it's too late. Visit beautiful places, enjoy all that makes that place special. Putting on real clothes is much more than just looking your best. Oh and dying our hair or getting hair cuts seems essential to most of us. Keep your spirit lifted. Slide out of your old skin and realize that you are newly refreshed. My New Year Resolution was 'Expansion', and I wasn't expecting this much change in one year. So keep positive, continue your movements, decide how you want this journey look for you, and maybe create that box of memories!



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page